The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme.

The 2024 Prize will open for submissions from 1 September 2023 to 1 November 2023.

The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country aged 18 and over. It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words).

Submissions should be made via the online entry form which will be available on this page from 1 September. The eligibility and entry guidelines can be found here.

The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2024. 

Submissions are accepted in English, Bengali, Chinese, Creole, English, French, Greek, Malay, Maltese, Portuguese, Samoan, Swahili, Tamil, and Turkish.

An international judging panel of writers will select a shortlist of around twenty stories, from which five regional winners are chosen. One of the regional winners is then selected as the overall winner, who receives £5,000. The regional winners will receive £2,500. All five regional winning stories will be published on Granta.

Scroll down to read answers to frequently asked questions about the prize, including who can enter, how stories are judged and what languages we accept.

The competition is free to enter.

Website link: Commonwealth Short Story Prize – Commonwealth Foundation

Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login
Event Details
1 Comment
  1. ronald lubega

    i love contributing towards this award

Leave a Comment

Event Details
Members Only Area!

Become a member today and explore the entire range of opportunities listed on the site.